Freedom to a young African child

Freedom to me as a little boy was that I could go anywhere, anytime without anyone restraining me.

I always dreamt of one day to be grown and become somebody on my own.

In fact, freedom to me is power. Little wonder, while still little, someone once asked me what I saw myself becoming in future. My response was well to become a tax collector, of course.

In those early years, tax collectors had influence of jailing tax defaulters in a caged fence. So, I coveted this kind of power so much that I couldn’t wait to be a man to have authority to imprison someone that stepped on my toes.

I once dreamed of becoming a teacher.

Why?

Teachers did hold regular meetings on last Thursdays of the month in my village, during school hours. However, they did eat assorted delicacies at such a time. Thus, as a pupil, I couldn’t wait to be mature and become a teacher myself, so that I could partake in such meals.

Twenty years down the lines, here I’m as a man what is freedom to me now?

Freedom is ability to enjoy sound sleep and wake up refreshed. Because of insomnia I do experienced sometime, I see 8-hour sleep as a gift, liberty and luxury!

In fact, freedom is when I’m able to write a post on my blog.

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑